‘cabinet of curios’


6 artists to choose from:  L’OCELLE MARE + ALEXIS DEGRENIER + JULIEN DESPREZ + GASPAR CLAUS (solo) + WASSIM HALAL + WILL GUTHRIE

Experimental forms? Perhaps. Quirky, or contemplative? Absolutely. Sometimes all it takes to reshape your world is a solo, or a single instrument.


• L’OCELLE MARE (fr)

Thomas Bonvalet is a self-taught multi-instrumentalist. Having commenced his vocation as a bassist he cemented it as a guitarist at the heart of the band Cheval de Frise (1998-2004). Progressively straying from the guitar, he began to integrate foot tapping and various wind and percussive instruments into his performance, incorporating mechanical elements and stray amped-up objects into the soundscape.

LINE-UP
Thomas Bonvalet : six-string bass banjo, mechanical metronome, tuning forks, claves, foot and hand clappers, mini-amplifiers, amplifiers, subwoofer, microphones, small mixer, bells, mouth organ fragments, concertina, componiums, “stringin it”, audio ducker, drumheads, spring motors.

•  ALEXIS DEGRENIER (fr)

After studying classical percussion and composition with as many written forms as elements from the oral tradition, Alexis Degrenier composed his first pieces for chamber orchestra at the age of 16.

His fascination for the work of Helmut Lachenmann, with whom he attended a writing course seminar, led him to focus on sound spaces, oblique listening and parasitic elements. At the same time, he evolves through his research and collaborations, actively involved in the practice of traditional music, first through the study of North Indian and Pakistani music, to devote himself today to drone music, particularly next to the members of La Nòvia.

LINE-UP
Alexis Degrenier : composition, percussion, hurdy-gurdy, drone box

• JULIEN DESPREZ (fr)

When you only hear it without seeing it, it’s not easy to say that Julien Desprez plays electric guitar. This young French musician plays with a salutary spontaneity and many internal and external modifications on his instrument. Playing with his microphones, transforming the sound with pedals; it seems like his hands are tap-dancing on the chords. His live tracks sound like cut-up sounds, close to the so-called glitch music; reminding us of the Quebec techno producer Akufen alias Marc Leclair, with whom he shares the taste of jolting: his body almost dances when he plays and the relationship he has with his guitar can evoke the actions of a magician who would have hypnotised a tiger trainer.

LINE-UP
Julien Desprez : guitar, effects pedals, lights, installation

• GASPAR CLAUS (solo) (fr)

Gaspar Claus is a tireless explorer who ceaselessly re-configures the world map of music. A cross-country cellist who might be described as the heretic heir of the exemplary Tom Cora, with whom he shares the blend of popular and erudite styles and a taste for melody and racket alike, along with an all-encompassing appetite, he allows his unkempt technique to serve the pure joy of being alive, ever open to surprises, with a humanist drive which contaminates his countless collaborations (from Jim O’Rourke to Sufjan Stevens and Rone to Angélique Ionatos). Improvised music (alongside Keiji Haino or Serge Teyssot-Gay), contemporary music (with Bryce Dessner), flamenco (Pedro Soler and Ines Bacan) or pop (Barbara CarlottiPeter Von Poehl), everything that comes into his hands transforms into an exercise in the intensification of one’s tastes and the bursting of boundaries.

LINE-UP
Gaspar Claus : cello, concert in the dark

• WASSIM HALAL (fr)

Few people explore Darbuka from this angle, and Wassim Halal likes to clear the land. This solo starts from a simple question: how to create the same emotions as a lament (Ataba) with a Darbuka. What tricks can be found in the narration, the timbres, the references to create a singular emotion.
To this question is also added the exploration of the universe of rhythm, powerful and repetitive. A solo that finds its way by decompartmentalizing identities, working between acoustic and amplified borders.

→ Video ‘Yodling on Samai | سماعي ثقيل’

LINE-UP
Wassim Halal : darbuka, fx

• WILL GUTHRIE (aus)

The Australian emigrant set down his suitcases in Nantes in 2004. Since then, he has made his mark among those of the most singular drummers and/or percussionists who hammer the sound space of experimental music around the globe. With his raw and yet erudite approach to the instrument, we forget the technique, we listen to the music. Will Guthrie is also a man who has been nourished by sounds from everywhere, and he lets us hear what he has digested from them. A music with apparent roots but with a strong modernity. Sounds necessarily influence (Tibetan bowls, concert bass drum, bells etc.) but it is the intention behind it that is listened to above all. The sacred placed between the folkloric and the spiritual, which can be interpreted and reread in relation to each one, something that clearly goes beyond the percussion solo…

LINE-UP
Will Guthrie : drums, percussion

→ Contact Booking : jullian.muraillesmusic@gmail.com

Past shows

Click on "date", "artist", "city" or "venue" to change the list display
  • DateArtist(s)CityVenue
  • 17/01/2019L'Ocelle Mare, Gaspar Claus (solo)RennesFestival autres mesures au Musée des beaux-arts de Rennes
  • 28/09/2017L'Ocelle Mare, Will Guthrie, Gaspar Claus (solo)TullePop Corn Festival, Théâtre des Sept Collines
  • 16/09/2017Alexis Degrenier, L'Ocelle Mare, Gaspar Claus (solo)NantesMusée d'arts de Nantes, les journées du Patrimoine
  • 23/10/2016L'Ocelle Mare, Gaspar Claus (solo)ParisLe Centquatre

‘cabinet de curiositÉs’


5 artistes au choix :  L’OCELLE MARE + ALEXIS DEGRENIER + JULIEN DESPREZ + GASPAR CLAUS (solo) + WILL GUTHRIE

Formes expérimentales ? Peut-être. Formes curieuses ou contemplatives ? Absolument. Il suffit parfois d’un solo ou d’un seul instrument pour refaire son monde…


• L’OCELLE MARE (fr)

Thomas Bonvalet est un musicien autodidacte multi-instrumentiste. Bassiste puis guitariste au sein du groupe Cheval de frise (1998-2004), il se détourne peu à peu de ce dernier instrument en intégrant la podorythmie, diverses percussions et éléments mécaniques, instruments à vent, objets détournés ainsi qu’un dispositif d’amplification.

« La particularité de Thomas Bonvalet, ça n’est pas de se servir d’instruments comme un orchestre d’un point de vue polyphonique mais de chercher dans la microphonie, la recherche de timbres, et l’attention des sons. Ce qui est frappant chez Thomas Bonvalet, c’est la transmission d’énergie dans son univers si singulier. » France Musique

FORMATION
Thomas Bonvalet : banjo basse six cordes, métronome mécanique, diapasons, claves, frappements de pieds et de mains, mini-amplificateurs, amplificateurs, subwoofer, micros, petite table de mixage, cloches, fragments d’orgue à bouche, concertina, componiums, « stringin it », audio ducker, peau de tambour, moteurs à ressorts…

•  ALEXIS DEGRENIER (fr)

Après des études de percussions classiques et de composition avec autant de formes écrites que d’éléments issus de la tradition orale, Alexis Degrenier compose ses premières pièces pour orchestre de chambre à l’âge de 16 ans.

Sa fascination pour le travail d’Helmut Lachenmann avec qui il suivra le temps d’un séminaire des cours d’écriture, l’amène donc à se concentrer sur les espaces sonores, l’écoute oblique et les éléments parasites. Parallèlement à cela, il évolue à travers ses recherches et ses collaborations, activement dans la pratique de musiques traditionnelles, d’abord par l’étude des musiques indiennes du Nord et du Pakistan, pour se consacrer aujourd’hui aux musiques à bourdons, notamment à proximité des membres de La Nòvia.

FORMATION
Alexis Degrenier : composition, percussions, vielle à roue, boîte à bourdon

• JULIEN DESPREZ (fr)

Quand on l’entend seulement sans le voir, il n’est pas évident d’affirmer que Julien Desprez pratique la guitare électrique. L’instrument roi du rock’n roll, ce jeune musicien français le détourne avec une spontanéité salutaire grâce à toute une batterie de modifications internes ou externes. Il joue avec ses micros, en transforme le son grâce à des pédales ; on dirait que ses mains font des claquettes sur les cordes. Ses pièces en live sonnent comme des cut-ups sonores, proches de la musique dite « glitch » ; on pense notamment au producteur techno québécois Akufenalias Marc Leclair, avec lequel il partage ce goût des soubresauts : son corps danse presque lorsqu’il joue et le rapport qu’il entretient avec sa guitare évoque parfois les gestes d’un magicien qui aurait marabouté un dresseur de fauves.

FORMATION
Julien Desprez : guitare, pédales d’effets, lumières, installation

• GASPAR CLAUS (solo) (fr)

Gaspar Claus est un infatigable passe-muraille n’ayant de cesse de re-configurer selon son bon plaisir les cartes d’Etat-major du monde de la musique. Violoncelliste tout-terrain qu’on pourrait qualifier d’héritier hérétique de l’exemplaire Tom Cora avec lequel il partage cet alliage du populaire et du savant, de la mélodie et du boucan ainsi qu’une gourmandise tous azimuts, il met sa technique hirsute au service de la joie pure d’être vivant, toujours ouvert à la surprise, avec cet élan humaniste dont il vient contaminer ses innombrables collaborations (de Jim O’Rourke à Sufjan Stevens en passant par Rone et Angélique Ionatos). Musique improvisée (en compagnie de Keiji Haino ou de Serge Teyssot-Gay), musique contemporaine (avec Bryce Dessner) flamenco (Pedro Soler et Ines Bacan) ou pop (Barbara Carlotti, Peter Von Poehl), tout entre ses mains se transforme en exercice d’intensification du goût, d’éclatement des frontières.

FORMATION
Gaspar Claus : violoncelle, concert dans le noir

• WILL GUTHRIE (aus)

L’émigrant australien a posé ses valises à Nantes en 2004. Il a depuis gravé son empreinte parmi celles des plus singuliers batteurs et/ou percussionnistes qui martèlent l’espace sonore des musiques expérimentales de par le globe. Avec son approche brute et pourtant érudite de l’instrument, on oublie la technique, on écoute la musique. Will Guthrie est aussi un homme qui s’est nourri de sons de partout, et il nous fait entendre ce qu’il en a digéré. Une musique aux racines apparentes mais à la modernité bien affirmée. Les sonorités influent forcément (les bols tibétains, la grosse caisse de concert, les bells etc.) mais c’est l’intention derrière qui s’écoute avant tout. Le sacré placé entre le folklorique et le spirituel, qui s’interprète et se relit à l’aune de chacun, un truc qui dépasse clairement le solo de percussions…

FORMATION
Will Guthrie : batterie, percussions

→ Contact Booking : jullian.muraillesmusic@gmail.com

Concerts passés

Cliquez sur "date ", "artiste ", "ville" or "salle" pour changer l'ordre
  • DateArtiste(s)VilleSalle
  • 17/01/2019Pass-Murailles 'Cabinet de Curiosités' avec Gaspar Claus & l'Ocelle MareRennesFestival autres mesures au Musée des beaux-arts de Rennes